Read Sweet Black Waves (Sweet Black Waves #1) by Kristina Pérez Online

Sweet Black Waves (Sweet Black Waves #1)

Not you without me, not me without you.Two proud kingdoms stand on opposite shores, with only a bloody history between them. As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what's right, even as her powers grow beyond her control, will set Branwen against both her best friend and the only man she's ever loved. Inspired by the star-crossed tale of Tristan and Eseult, this is the story of the legends true heroine: Branwen. For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, this is the first book of a lush fantasy trilogy about warring countries, family secrets, and forbidden romance....

Title : Sweet Black Waves (Sweet Black Waves #1)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781250132857
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 448 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Sweet Black Waves (Sweet Black Waves #1) Reviews

  • Rê



    3.5. "Sea and Magic" Stars

    ARC via NetGalley.

    Thank you, Imprint

    I'm not very familiar with the tale Tristan & Iseult, so I won't comment on that. Still, if you're like me, I'm sure you'll still find plenty to enjoy while reading this story.

    For me, Sweet Black Waves gave me its best during the first half, especially the first third of the story. There world was described in beautiful details, the main character (Branwen) struggled with what she thought right and wrong and still managed to do th
    ...more

  • Minni Mouse

    Tristan and Eseult retelling? With a Branwen twist? All I know is the 2006 film starring James Franco, and can't say no to that!

    THE GOOD

    1) I don't know how the original tale goes but if it's anything like the 2006 movie, I liked the twist of swapping Branwen into Eseult's place.

    2) Lots of potential for readers to gobble this book right up since it has a little bit of everything young adult readers adore: romantic entanglements, medieval tournaments for lurve, enemies-turned-lovers stories, tragi
    ...more

  • Pamela Sparkman

    Sweet Black Waves. I feel like I’ve been floating on sweet black waves ever since I finished this book. It’s been about two weeks now. Or maybe it’s been three. I’ve lost count to be perfectly honest. You see, I’ve been avoiding it, hiding from it. I didn’t want to think about it because it left me broken hearted...wounded beyond repair. But let me back up to the beginning.

    I approached Sweet Black Waves without knowing much about it. I read the synopsis and was intrigued, and the cover caught
    ...more

  • Scarlett Readz and Runz....Through Novel Time & Distance

    I won this at a give-away by the author Amy Trueblood, and I am over the moon. Her post-it note is a keeper! Signed by Amy! (I am screaming inside!)

  • Taryn Pierson

    I was totally bought into Sweet Black Waves from the first page, and not only did I never want to put it down, I never knew what was going to happen next! That’s partly because I was unfamiliar with the story of Tristan and Isolde (on which the book is based), but also because the story is SO CRAZY. It has the twists and turns of a soap opera with the weighty feel of an epic. So basically, everything I want.

    Branwen is actually the main character here, cousin and handmaiden to Princess Eseult (ca
    ...more

  • Jessica

    I received this book for free as part of BookSparks’ YA Summer Reading Challenge.

    Omg this was so amazing! I don’t know why people aren’t talking about this book. This could have totally been one of those super hyped YA books.

    This is a retelling of the popular Tristan and Iseult myth, which I have to admit, I’ve never even heard of. So going into this book I didn’t have any expectations about the retelling aspect since I knew nothing about the story. I went into the book completely blind as to w
    ...more

  • D.J.

    Lush and atmospheric, Sweet Black Waves is a work of magic. Pérez's writing is captivating and readers will immediately be consumed by Branwen's story. There's romance and heartache, secrets and danger—and all of it adds up to a splendid debut novel. I can't wait to see what happens next!

  • Kathy Martin

    Branwen is an orphan who is the niece of the queen and the best friend and lady-in-waiting to her cousin Princess Eseult. She is mostly treated as another daughter of the queen and the princess's sister. Her parents were killed by the Kernyvaks and she has grown up with a hatred for them.

    When she rescues and heals a young sailor, she is dismayed to learn that he is Kernyvak. She is torn between her vows as a healer and her own hatred. Gradually she falls in love with the young man but, when raid
    ...more