Read The Wildflowers by Harriet Evans Online

The Wildflowers

The Wildflowers by Harriet Evans is the spellbinding new novel from the Top 5 Sunday Times bestselling author of A Place for Us and The Butterfly Summer. Fans of Kate Morton's The Lake House or Santa Montefiore will delight in this book. Harriet Evans is 'perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Maeve Binchy' BestTony and Althea Wilde. Glamorous, argumentative ... adulterous to the core.They were my parents, actors known by everyone. They gave our lives love and colour in a house by the sea - the house that sheltered my orphaned father when he was a boy.But the summer Mads arrived changed everything. She too had been abandoned and my father understood why. We Wildflowers took her in.My father was my hero, he gave us a golden childhood, but the past was always going to catch up with him ... it comes for us all, sooner or later.This is my story. I am Cordelia Wilde. A singer without a voice. A daughter without a father. Let me take you inside....

Title : The Wildflowers
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781472221377
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 480 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Wildflowers Reviews

  • Amy

    It’s been way too long since I’ve read a really good family saga, so when the opportunity arose to read The Wildflowers I just had to take it. If you’re looking for a book to really sink your teeth into, look no further. This is a meaty read(over 500 pages), you really get the opportunity to know the characters as it follows the Wilde family throughout their entire lives and by the end I wasn’t quite ready to say goodbye to them.

    This jumps back and forth in time from the 40’s, to 2014 and severa
    ...more

  • Kim

    What a wonderful book with many threads skilfully weaved to Create a story that draws you in from page 1.. Tony and Althea Wilde are actors who enjoy spending the summer by the beach with their children . We follow their story from childhood and learn many secrets that have shaped the people they have become. Tony has a roving eye and we are never sure whether Althea is blissfully unaware The. Children befriend a local girl who has a tough life and we hear some of the story through her eyes. I l ...more

  • Julie

    A difficult book to review as I found it enchanting yet disappointing at the same time. I loved the setting; 'idyllic' childhood at a Cornish beach house with some larger than life theatrical characters. On the other hand, this family saga was told initially from the daughter, Cordelia's, point of view. However, later on it switched to the adult's point of view and became somewhat confusing and to be honest overlong. If this had been offset by a happy ending then perhaps it would have left me wi ...more

  • Jo Barton

    Cordelia and Ben Wilde spend their summers in Worth Bay, Cornwall at the magical holiday retreat, named the Bosky, which has belonged to their father since he inherited it as a boy. For the children, staying at the Bosky is a filled with a mixture of great excitement and great despair as the trauma of having two temperamental actors as parents, means that the long summers spent in Cornwall are never without drama.

    Tony and Althea Wilde, thespian to their very core are profligate, promiscuous and
    ...more

  • Natalie

    To be completely honest, I thought about giving up on this book more than once. But it would be the first book I'd ever given up on. The first 50 - 60% was so slow and some of it seemed so pointless. Yes, I love a good backstory. But a lot of it just seemed to fall flat to me. Also, some of the language was honestly so ridiculous. I understand parts were set in the past but I feel these sections were too old fashioned even for the 40s and 50s. The twists and surprises were good. Although the who ...more

  • Toast

    It started off so well. Then it got really s l o w and self indulgent. The characters became stock - the know it all matyr daughter; the adulterer actor lovey father, the quiet supertalented mother; the fragile tragedy waiting to happen daughter in law - tedious. All of them charging around with 'my secret's bigger than yours' drive leading them no where for pages, chapters, years. In the end they all could quite happily have rumbled on for another hundred or so pages but I'd had enough and I'm ...more

  • Karen

    *4.5

    Oh my goodness. What a complex and damaged family the Wildes are. The Wildflowers is an epic family drama, spanning several decades, from 1940 to 2015. Set mainly in Dorset and London, it tells the story of a family gradually being torn apart by actions from the past.

    Anthony and Althea Wilde are well known and respected actors, Tony more so, as he is considerably older than Althea. To say that he gets around, is putting it mildly! His long suffering wife Althea is well aware of his affairs,
    ...more

  • Kate

    I’m usually a huge fan of Harriet Evans books but I really struggled with this one. The whizzing around between different times was quite hard to follow and to be honest the storyline was a little grim. Definitely not my favourite.