Read Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent Online

Lying in Wait

From the international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver, an unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page (The Irish Times) about a Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are suddenly revealed.My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect lifewife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydias son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax.For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this novel is a seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouncement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre (Sunday Mirror)....

Title : Lying in Wait
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781501167775
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 320 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Lying in Wait Reviews

  • Kendall

    I chose this book based on the description of the cover with this opening line "My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it"...

    I was gravitated to this little baby right away and was anxious to dive right in. I have read many disappointing psychological thrillers over the last couple of months and was thinking that this one would be the same but Liz Nugent did a slam dunk with this psychological thriller.

    I would have to say it's more of a slow-burning thriller.
    ...more

  • Dorie

    Well this is amazing, a psychological thriller that really delivers and definitely lives up to the buzz and reviews that are generating for this book. It was crazy creepy, sometimes almost made me gasp (I’m not kidding here), this is one heck of a good read.

    This book features a true psychopath, the meaning of which is “Psychopathy is a personality disorder which has symptoms expressed over a wide range of settings.Socially, it expresses extensive callous and manipulative self-serving behaviors w
    ...more

  • Zoeytron

    What lies beyond the kitchen window? 

    Here we have a mum who will do anything to hang onto her boy, Lawrence, despite the fact that he is grown now, and raring to get out on his own.  Who else would take care of her?  Mum is used to getting her own way.  Is she insane or merely obsessed?  And that ancient tube of screaming scarlet lipstick that is saved for special, could that have been any creepier? 

    Here is a psychological thriller that won't let you down.  The opening sentence was killer, and t
    ...more

  • Paromjit

    I chose this book on the description given by the publisher, I just could not resist it. The first line of the book is a killer, it just draws you into this extraordinary dark and disturbing psychological thriller. It is set in 1980s Dublin. The characters are loathsome, yet you cannot help but want to know more about them. The more you read, the murkier the story becomes, as it delves in depth into the two disparate families. There is the respectable family of the Judge, his wife and son, Laure ...more

  • Tina

    The first line of this book is superb! It captivates you right away as you wonder just what has happened?

    Andrew and Lydia Fitzsimons are a married couple who have a teenaged son named Laurence. One night something badly goes wrong and a murder is committed. The story is told in three viewpoints; Lydia, Karen (the victim's sister) and Laurence. This book is total disfunction!! It was a slow building thriller that is completely despairing!!

    Perfect title too!

  • Dem

    Liz Nugent's opening line in this twisted and devious page turning mystery certainly creates an impact.

    My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.

    Having loved Liz Nugent's previous novel Unravelling Oliver I was thrilled to get an opportunity to read her latest novel Lying in Wait and I certainly was not disappointed as her plot lines, character development and writing is sharp and vivid and this author certainly knows how to tell a story. I have read a lot o
    ...more

  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)

    Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/

    “My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.”

    ^^^That line right there had me like . . . .



    I mean let’s be honest. I don’t care if the tramp deserved it – or if she was a tramp – or if the husband did or didn’t mean to kill her. I just appreciate any time someone is dead and I am given an early copy to read. As mentioned a time or a thousand before, I have a bit of old lady brain so I knew I had read
    ...more

  • Elizabeth of Silver's Reviews

    Was his life and his family made of secrets? That is what it seemed like to Laurence.

    Laurence found out that his father had killed someone because she was blackmailing him. What his parents did with the body and the fact that Andrew killed a woman was a huge secret his father had to keep. This secret took its toll on Andrew and Laurence.

    His mother actually was not fazed by it perhaps because of a deep, dark secret from her childhood that neither Laurence or Andrew knew about and which was anothe
    ...more