Read Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman Online

Something in the Water

A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut--for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena. If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you? Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman'...

Title : Something in the Water
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781524797188
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 342 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Something in the Water Reviews

  • Carrie

    Something In The Water by Catherine Steadman is a thriller that certainly had an opening that should grab readers right away, the main character digging a grave. After finding out that there would be a need for a grave readers jump back in time to find out just what led to that event.

    Erin and Mark seem to be very much in love and excited to be planning their wedding and honeymoon. Erin is a budding filmmaker working on a documentary in which she’s interviewing criminals and Mark a successful inv
    ...more

  • Carol (Bookaria)

    This is a thriller about a couple who find themselves in financial distress weeks before their wedding and the decisions they make afterwards will have life-changing consequences.

    Erin is a documentary filmmaker and Mark is a banker who loses his job days before the big day. They live in a very nice home and decide to go through with their planned wedding as well as the honeymoon despite the fact that they could make wiser financial decisions under the circumstances.

    Once in their dreamy Bora-Bor
    ...more

  • Liz Barnsley

    I LOVED this. It was so addictive and I loved how the main character, Erin, just seemed actually to have a death wish the entire time.

    When she and her husband discover "something in the water" while they are on their honeymoon, lots of decisions lie ahead about what they should do about it. What follows is a twisty adventure that is a whole lot of fun and does actually beg the question "what would YOU do?" Well I asked myself this but certainly I don't think I'd have gone down exactly the path t
    ...more

  • Ova Incekaraoglu

    Full review here

    This might seem harsh but I really don't understand how this book got published in the way it is.

    THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

    STYLE AND WRITING

    Steadman’s writing, is not steady. Well. There is A LOT in this book. A LOT. In the beginning I thought: hey, she must be going into these details for a reason. Then the more I read, the more I became sure: there is no reason for us reading a wedding reception 3 course menu, and prices, for pages, OR how our character interprets a pregnan
    ...more

  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader & Traveling Sister

    4 shocking stars to Something in the Water! 🏝 🏝 🏝 🏝

    Erin films documentaries, and her new husband, Mark, is an investment banker. They fly to the honeymoon of a lifetime to Bora Bora. Everything is tropical and picture-perfect, until they find something in the water while scuba diving. Dun dun dun.

    Erin and Mark have to decide if they will tell the truth or keep a secret. Either way, danger potentially awaits...

    This book starts out with a bombshell when Erin and Mark find something in the water.
    ...more

  • megs_bookrack

    I am so pleased with this! Catherine Steadman's, Something in the Water is a great story with a great narrator. I was quickly drawn into the story as it starts at a very peculiar place that gets you intrigued immediately. This story, in contrast to a lot I seem to be reading lately, is told from one POV. This was so refreshing for me; I really related to the Erin, our protagonist and felt really comfortable just sitting in her voice and hearing this story told.

    Erin, is a documentary filmmaker w
    ...more

  • Jennifer

    Something in the Water is Catherine Steadman's debut novel. It's a psychological thriller that incorporates elements related to marital relationships, documentary filmmaking, and crime. With a slow start, the main events start happening around the 30% mark, and I was captivated. I loved the incorporation of ocean diving, the underwater ambiance, and the random opportunity that starts to shape this thriller. Initially, the happenings did not seem to me to be far-fetched and this prompted self-ref ...more

  • Linda

    Step back from the flame, honey.

    You're gonna get burned.

    Mark and Erin are on a stellar honeymoon in Bora Bora. Sun, sea, and each other. She's a documentary film producer and he's a successful investment banker. No worries. Or so it seems until they find something floating in the water. The depth of that ocean pales in comparison to the depth of problems that are gonna follow this couple home like stink on the back of a wayward skunk.

    How deep is deep enough?

    Catherine Steadman creates quite the
    ...more